Women's Health


Female Reproductive System

The female reproductive organs are the right and left ovaries and uterine tubes, the uterus, the vagina, the external genitalia, and the mammary glands.

You should be able to:

  • Describe the structures and functions of the components of the female reproductive system.
  • Identify the main structures of the female reproductive system.
  • Describe the histology of an oocyte.
  • Recognise and describe the cyclical changes in the histology of the endometrium.
  • Recognise and describe the cyclical changes in the histology of breast tissue.
  • Recognise and describe the components of the ovary.
  • Recognise and describe the developmental stages of ovarian follicles.
  • Correlate the various structural cycles in the female reproductive system, both histological, physiological and hormonal.
  • Describe and compare the steps of oogenesis, spermatogenesis and spermiogenesis.
  • Describe the structure and function of an oocyte.
  • Describe the histology of the lactating breast.

Slides for this week

For each slide, complete the work as listed below. Completing the whole slide will assist you in understanding and retention. For each slide, allocate an A3 spread in your workbook. Remember to add the slide and its page number to the index in the front of the book.


  1. Name the four layers of the vagina.
  2. What epithelium lines the ecto- and endocervix respectively?
  3. What are the major functions of the ovaries?
  4. Name the three components of the ovary?
  5. Name three examples of endometrial disorders.
  6. Explain the events in the ovary prior to ovulation.
  7. Describe the life cycle of an oocyte up to and including fertilisation by a sperm.
  8. Explain capacitation and its importance in fertilization.
  9. Summarize the events that occur as a sperm fertilizes an oocyte.

© julie 2020 marius loots